Male
    Number of posts : 27
    Where I live : USA
    I have visited China : 2 times
    Registration date : 2010-07-26

Fiancee or Marriage Visa ...

Post by Mark on 26/07/10, 03:00 am

Hello Everyone,
    I'm new to this forum, although I was a member of some other forums. I hate to ask a question that has been asked many time before, but here goes! Isn't it quicker to process a fiancee visa instead of a marriage visa?

I have been emailing and chatting with a women for almost 3 years now, and I am going to meet her very soon. I had researched this in the past, and the general consensus seemed to be that it is better/quicker to process a fiancee visa and marry in the USA (I'm from the USA), instead of marrying in China and processing a marriage visa. As I recall, it is nearly twice as fast.

I appreciate any wisdom anyone can bring to bear on this, as her and I are currently planning this next move.

Thanks a million.
    Mark
    sf_skyfox

Male
    Number of posts : 82
    Where I live : St Charles
    I have visited China : 5 times
    Registration date : 2007-10-14

Re: Fiancee or Marriage Visa ...

Post by sf_skyfox on 26/07/10, 11:38 am

Mark,

It took us under a year to get our finacee visa, not sure how long it takes for a marriage visa. What we did do, is have a wedding dinner in China, it isn't official until you do the legal documents. So we had the dinner there and a year later when the wife came to the states we made it official. Which worked out very nicely for us.
    handyal
    Senior  Member

Male
    Number of posts : 3392
    Where I live : Roi-Et Thailand
    I have visited China : 6 times
    Registration date : 2008-01-06

Post by handyal on 26/07/10, 06:08 pm

Irrespective of whatever Visa you apply for, you first have to prove a genuine relationship.